Michael Bates' ACROBAT: the music of Dmitri Shostakovich

by Barbès
Michael Bates' ACROBAT: the music of Dmitri Shostakovich This is an in-person event that is also streaming online In person tickets: Streaming tickets: Streaming tickets unavailable at this time
Fri, 03 Dec 2021 (EST)
08:00PM - 09:30PM
Event past
376 9th st
Brooklyn, NY 11215
Open Map
Acrobat, the quintet led by bassist/composer Michael Bates, features five fearless voices exploring one of music's most mysterious personalities, Dmitri Shostakovich.  
With literal themes by Shostakovich or themes composed with his spirit, "Acrobat" is full of music that is playful yet dark and swinging.  And while Shostakovich is clearly being channeled, the voices of these five fantastic improvisers will be on full display: Beautiful and vicious, elegant and dissonant, and humor laced with serene sarcasm.
With Marty Ehrlich-clarinet; Mazz Swift-violin; Sara Schoenbeck-bassoon; Michael Bates-bass
Michael Sarin-drums

$20 Tickets